I’ll Huff and I’ll Puff

15 03 2009

The Big Bad Wolf did come to my house this week, but not in the form of an old friend. A mean old stomach virus blew in and knocked me and my 1 year old down for several days. I still can not eat much (probably good since I have to fit in a bride’s maid’s dress in 2.5 months) and I still do not feel quite human. This leaves me to wonder, what could I have done to avoid this illness and what can I do to protect myself in the future?

There is a growing amount of scholars in the medical community that support the idea of a holistic approach to health. In a “wholistic” approach, we must recognize that our overall health is connected to the health of the mind, body, and spirit. The mind needs to be free from stress, worry, anxiety, fear, hate, and thoughts that poison us. The body needs fuel that is free of chemicals, preservatives, and full of vitamins and minerals. Our spirits are often the last thing we think about. Even if you are not religious, it is important to feel a connection to the universe and a higher power. In taking care of our mind, body, and spirit, we live a more balanced life. 

It is true that genetics and the environment we live in play a part in our overall health, but the mind, body, and spirit connection have more of an impact than most care to acknowledge. Where we often do not have control over our genes or our environment, we CAN control what we eat, what we think, and how we live in general. To me, this is an empowering thought. I am in control of key elements of my health and healing power. The body, mind, and spirit are powerful allies in our fight against the Big Bad Wolf. Tune in next time for specific ways to keep the Wolf at bay when he huffs and puffs.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

