I Know Nothing; Therefore, I Write

31 07 2009

“I know nothing except the fact of my ignorance.” I truly believe in this quote from Socrates. Which is why I sometimes find it hard to even write. However, Socrates was still a philosopher, so I can still be a writer. Are we both hypocrites? Are we all hypocrites? Oh, how philosophy plays tricks with my mind. 

Another reason I find it hard to write is whining. I detest it. Who wants to hear me whine about my daughter on the subway, my weight issues, my job issues? To counter these negative thoughts and images, I try to suggest solutions, or even just the brighter side of things. I do not always succeed, but negativity is catching and no one wants that virus.

Socrates “decided that it was not wisdom that enabled poets to write their poetry, but a kind of instinct or inspiration, such as you find in seers and prophets who deliver all their sublime messages without knowing in the least what they mean.” Writing is therapeutic for me. If it helps someone else out, that is great, but I do it mainly for me. There are few things in life where TRUE passion springs. As far as I know (and that is nothing), writing is my passion. What’s yours?

Namaste.

Actions

Information

2 responses

31 07 2009
chadoates

Good article… Socrates was indeed an interesting man judging from what is known of him

5 08 2009
mrsscott

Gracias. And thanks for reading. I do love those greek philosophers! Here is a quote from Socrates I find very amusing. Enjoy

“By all means, marry. If you get a good wife, you’ll become happy; if you get a bad one, you’ll become a philosopher.”

Leave a Reply

