Budget Savvy MD Style Crab Cake (without the crab)

15 11 2009

One of the hardest things about creating an ideal work/life balance is eating healthy. It is so much easier to pick up the phone or turn into a drive thru. In my search for  meals made from more simple and fresh ingredients (that do not put a dent in my pocketbook), I came across a recipe for cauliflower fritters. As I was making the recipe, I noticed the fritters were looking alot like a crab cake. Being a MD native, I love a good crab cake. So I altered the recipe and think I have a winner. Not only is it more economical than using crab, it is also better for the environment, as crabs are overfished and populations (especially in the chesapeake bay area) are dwindling. Let me know what you think.

Ingredient List:

  1. Large head of califlower (about 2 1/4 pounds) trimmed and chopped (or buy pre-chopped bags for convenience)
  2. At least 1/2 cup flour (I used whole wheat flour)
  3. 1 large egg, beaten
  4. Old Bay seasoning (to taste), at least 1 Tablespoon
  5. 2 tablespoons Extra Virgin Olive Oil (EVOO)- I used more for a deep fried approach
  6. Horseradish and Ketchup (or store bought cocktail sauce)

Steam the califlower until tender. Mash and let cool. Stir in flour and egg (I added more flour than the recipe called for). Season with salt and pepper and Old Bay. Return to fridge for 15 minutes. Roll 1/4 cupfuls into balls and flatten into patties, it will make about 12. Heat EVOO over medium-high heat. Working in batches, fry the patties until-golden brown, about 4 minutes on each side. Serve with cocktail sauce and Old Bay on the side. To make your own cocktail sauce, simply mix equal parts ketchup to horseradish. This is pretty spicy, so you might want to add more ketchup.

Happy Cooking! Namaste.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

