All in the Name of Love

18 01 2010

I'VE GOT A LOVE THAT I CLING ON TO.. By Niffty on Flickr

Read at weddings and framed on walls, most people have heard a version of Corinthians 13:4-7 (Love is patient, Love is kind). Some people would say the passage is a little played out and annoying. Or is it?

I found an exercise that brings new meaning to the overly used Bible passage. I encourage you all to try it and share what you think. All you have to do is read the passage below, inserting your own name where there are blanks.

_____ is patient, _____is kind. _____ does not envy, _____ does not boast, _____ is not proud. 5 _____is not rude, ____ is not self-seeking, _____ is not easily angered, _____keeps no record of wrongs. 6 ______does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. 7 ______always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

Do you embody this passage fully? Has this exercise changed the way you see this passage and your life?

Making the passage so personal, gave me better insight into my own life. I am not always patient with my child, or kind to those who do me wrong. Envy, I am sad to say, can consume me. I often boast and am proud when something great happens to me. Let’s face it, I can be rude, especially when tired or annoyed. I can be self absorbed. And anger, well, let’s just say don’t push me too hard. I keep a mental list of all the things my husband has done (or not done) in order to win the next fight.

Even if you do not read the Bible or believe in it, you can not deny there is some great stuff in there. Sometimes we just need to look at it from a different angle or in a new way. May all your days be filled with Love, Hope, and Faith, but the greatest of these is Love. Namaste.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

